What Impact Will Budget Cuts Have?

With school districts all over the country considering budget cuts (e.g. less property tax revenue may lead to fewer staff members in schools, shorter school years in some places, & in Kansas City the Board of Education voted to close 28 out of the 61 city schools)- you have to ask yourself the question:

Will budget cuts affect my child’s education?

Some time ago I spoke with a teacher who told me that her school district decided to stop teaching cursive to children in elementary school, because of some new theory.  The feedback from the the middle schools to which these children eventually went, was that the children were lacking in a basic skill they would need to complete many assignments.

Now this change wasn’t due to “budget cuts,” but even with the simple omission of something like cursive in elementary school, it had an impact on the success of children in later grades.

What will be the impact of the various cuts that are being proposed all across the country?

I know what I plan to do about it….I plan to look ahead at my child’s curriculum in high school and MAKE SURE he is taking the right classes.

I plan to work with his teachers to MAKE SURE he understands his material and I plan to learn something about the courses, myself, so that I can MAKE SURE he masters his work when he is at home.

Do what you can.

Leave a Reply

